The vision of the Department of Pharmacy Practice is to prepare students and residents to become highly-skilled pharmacist practitioners who are capable of functioning as change agents and servant leaders to develop innovative new roles for pharmacists.

Our mission is to foster professional growth by engaging students in dynamic didactic instruction, progressive pharmacy practice experiences, and a wide range of professional and service activities, while emphasizing the importance of developing wholeness as a lifestyle and following the teaching, healing and service examples of Jesus Christ.

The Department of Pharmacy Practice is fully committed to student-centered teaching and mentorship.  Faculty members maintain clinical practices that serve as the foundation of the school’s experiential training programs, while offering advanced health care services to patients of the institution and nearby communities.  Practice specialties include infectious disease, oncology, cardiology, endocrinology, nephrology/dialysis, respiratory, neurology, psychiatry, internal medicine, travel medicine, critical care, and pediatrics.  Most have achieved board certification in their respective area of specialty.  The faculty is actively engaged in scholarly work, accounting for numerous publications in refereed medical and scientific journals, as well as abstracts, posters, and platform presentations at state, national, and international conferences.  Faculty members work closely with pharmacy leaders at Loma Linda University Medical Center to oversee the training of PGY1 and PGY2 residents and fellows.  In addition to the School of Pharmacy, some of our faculty members teach in the Schools of Dentistry, Nursing, and Allied Health Professions. 

Chair

Daniel Brown, PharmD
Chair/Professor
Shryock Hall, Room 207
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 651-4927
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: dbrown@llu.edu

Department Support

Phalla Tolon, BA
Administrative Assistant
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7537
Fax: (909) 558-0046
Email: ptolon@llu.edu

Faculty

Alireza FakhriRavari, PharmD, BCPS, AAHIVP
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall, Room 205
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7530
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: afakhriravari@llu.edu

Jody Gonzalez, PharmD, MSG, CGP, BCPS
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7972
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: jmigonzalez@llu.edu

Norm Hamada, PharmD
Professor
Pharmacy Residency Program Director
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-4000 x47386
Email: nhamada@llu.edu

Alireza Hayatshahi, PharmD, BCPS
Associate Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 651-5917
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: ahayatshahi@llu.edu

Lisa Hong, PharmD, BCPS
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-4882
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: lhong@llu.edu

CJ Jacobson, PharmD
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel: (909) 558-7461
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: cjacobson@llu.edu

Soo Min Jang, PharmD
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel: (909) 558-7730
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: smjang@llu.edu

Nancy Kawahara, PharmD, MSEd
Associate Professor
Tel: (909) 558-7401
Fax: (909) 558-0755
Email: nkawahara@llu.edu

Justin Kinney, PharmD, MA 
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-5858
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: jkinney@llu.edu

Jessa Koch, PharmD 
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-5858
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: jkoch@llu.edu

Lee Nguyen, PharmD, BCPS-AQ ID
Associate Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7031
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: leenguyen@llu.edu

Caroline Sierra, PharmD, BCPPS
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7530
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: csierra@llu.edu

Huyentran Tran, PharmD, BCPS
Assistant Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-7972
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: huytran@llu.edu

Farnoosh Zough, PharmD, BCPS
Associate Professor
Shryock Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350
Tel.: (909) 558-4958
Fax: (909) 558-7927
Email: fzough@llu.edu